Heartless by Marissa Meyer – Melike’s Review

This book is about the Daughter of the Marquess of Rock Turtle Cove (or you can simply call her Cath), who is obsessed with baking every kind of cake. However, her mum strongly disagrees with Cath — such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be the Queen of Hearts. And at a royal ball, where the King is expected to propose Cath, she meets with the court joker: Jest. Cath can’t help feeling attracted to Jest and they start to meet in secret.

This is the general idea of the book, but I’m telling you, there is much more than that.

However, when I think for a moment and try to remember what happens in the whole book, I realise that not much had happened. To be honest, there was barely an action in the first half of the book. It felt like I was just reading empty 200 pages. There were a lot of details I did not really care about and it was unnecessarily long. I didn’t even like Meyer’s writing, which I admired in her Lunar Chronicles series. I thought that she tried really hard to write like Lewis Carroll and failed. The only good thing in the first half was Jest.

While I was reading the first half, I seriously thought there was no way I could like this book. But it took a turn and fortunately, things started to get better in the second half. Still, not much happened, but there was an action. I found myself constantly thinking about what was going to happen next. Though, I have to admit Jest became less interesting after the first half. But Cath . . . her thoughts started to change, they got messier. It was not really visible, but you could actually see her becoming the Queen of Hearts.

I don’t remember much from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but I can easily remember the nonsense of it. However, in Meyer’s Wonderland, you don’t see that much nonsense, which was kind of disappointing. There were still talking animals and stupid riddles, but still, I expected much more than that. I love how the things, which seemed unnecessary in the beginning, connected, but I found the ending to be quite dull. The second half was going so well, until the ending and then I was just like, “was that it?”

So yeah, I have complicated thoughts about this book. I’m not even sure if I liked it or not. So I decided to give it an average rating:

My rating: 3/5 stars

Leave a comment